Let Your Light Shine

The Wisdom of Solomon

01/22/2010 02:12

The Wisdom of Solomon

Have you ever sat down and read the story of Solomon?
I want to share just a few of the early blessings from his life:
 

1-He was the 2nd son of David and Bathsheba, their first son was killed due to the sin David committed. When Solomon was born- he was immediately blessed by God and David spoke that he would one day rule as King.
That in itself speaks to me. The Lord blessed them even after the curse of sin. He gave them another chance! What a merciful and loving God we serve- It says in 2 Samuel 12: 25-God had a special love for him, and wanted him named “God’s Beloved”.

2-When David was dying another son attempted to take over the throne. But Bathsheba cam to David and shared with him what was happening in his kingdom and reminded him of the promise for Solomon. David quickly made arrangements for Solomon to be crowned king.
The Lord had already ordained Solomon. He didn’t need to fight for his justice. This reminds me to not justify my case- that the Lord will bring about his perfect will for my life in his right timing.

3-When Solomon became king gained power quickly. But what amazes me the most is he poured out his heart to God, presenting his request. When the Lord asked him what he wanted? His response was 1 Kings 3:9- Here’s what I want: Give me a God-listening heart so I can lead your people well, discerning the difference between good and evil. For who on their own is capable of leading your glorious people?
The Lord was so pleased with Solomon’s heart that he gave him over and above what he asked for! 1 Kings 3:12-14- I’ll give you what you asked for- I’m giving you a wise and mature heart. There's never been one like you before; and there'll be no one after. As a bonus, I'm giving you both the wealth and glory you didn't ask for—there's not a king anywhere who will come up to your mark. And if you stay on course, keeping your eye on the life-map and the God-signs as your father David did, I'll also give you a long life.

The Lord weighs our hearts. He blesses those who seek him! And what better gift to ask for than that of WISDOM?

Back

Search site

© 2008 All rights reserved.